On This Page

WHO Polio Risk List

WHO List: Countries with Risk of Polio Transmission

Some countries have entry requirements for polio vaccination for travelers arriving from countries that are polio-endemic, -affected, -exporting, or experiencing a polio-outbreak.

Enforcement of these requirements can be expected; however, no specific information exists regarding acceptable documentation, point of enforcement, or consequences for not meeting requirements. Documentation on a separate page titled "Other Vaccinations" in the WHO-issued Certificate may be sufficient (in the CDC-issued Certificate, this page is referred to as "Other Immunizations/Prophylaxis Received").

Source: https://www.who.int/news/item/11-03-2022-statement-of-the-thirty-first-polio-ihr-emergency-committee

Polio-endemic countries

  • Afghanistan (WPV1)
  • Pakistan (WPV1)

Polio-affected, polio-outbreak, or polio-exporting countries

("Polio-exporting" category no longer officially recognized by WHO, but still contained in non-IHR entry requirements of some countries)

  • Afghanistan (WPV1 and cVDPV2)
  • Benin (cVDPV2)
  • Burkina Faso (cVDPV2)
  • Cameroon (cVDPV2)
  • Central African Republic (cVDPV2)
  • Chad (cVDPV2)
  • Côte d'Ivoire (cVDPV2)
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo (cVDPV2)
  • Djibouti (cVDPV2)
  • Egypt (cVDPV2)
  • Ethiopia (cVDPV2)
  • Gambia (cVDPV2)
  • Guinea (cVDPV2)
  • Guinea-Bissau (cVDPV2)
  • Iran (cVDPV2)
  • Israel (cVDPV3)
  • Liberia (cVDPV2)
  • Madagascar (cVDPV1)
  • Malawi (WPV1)
  • Mauritania (cVDPV2)
  • Mozambique (cVDPV2)
  • Niger (cVDPV2)
  • Nigeria (cVDPV2)
  • Pakistan (WPV1 and cVDPV2)
  • Palestinian Territories (cVDPV3)
  • Republic of the Congo (cVDPV2)
  • Senegal (cVDPV2)
  • Sierra Leone (cVDPV2)
  • Somalia (cVDPV2)
  • South Sudan (cVDPV2)
  • Tajikistan (cVDPV2)
  • Uganda (cVDPV2)
  • Ukraine (cVDPV2)
  • Yemen (cVDPV1 and cVDPV2)